Wonderland: Down the Rabbit Hole

After years of having escaped the clutches of Wonderland,
Alice thought she was finally going to have a normal life with her family.  But, little does she know that once you come
into contact with it, you can never truly escape its insanity.  Now attending therapy sessions and taking
medication, can Alice stay sane enough to protect all those she loves?  Join Alice as she takes another psychotropic
trip back Wonderland, in this new series by writers Raven Gregory and Pat
Shand.  Wonderland: Down the Rabbit Hole
is one journey not to be missed.
Now we get to see what happened to Alice between the events
of Alice in Wonderland and Return to Wonderland.  She definitely didn’t leave Wonderland
unscathed and what evil had escaped with her has come back to haunt her.  Now if only she could keep it together, not
just for her own sake, but for her family’s as well.  Just as they move into their new home, Alice
experiences another hallucinogenic bout and it all goes downhill from
there.  As she tries to fight her way back
to reality, she gets visions of her past as well as of future events.  It all gets jumbled inside her head until
she’s flashed years later, just before the beginning of Return to
Wonderland.  This book is definitely a
treat for fans of Wonderland and Zenescope in general because you get both
Raven Gregory and Pat Shand giving this story a voice.  What more could you want with a dynamite team
like that?
What I enjoyed the most was just seeing Alice’s ongoing
struggle with her time in Wonderland.  Not
that I like seeing others suffer, but it’s interesting to see how she dealt
with it.  She’s married now and has a
family, but the visions and nightmares just keep on coming.  So, if my math is right (which it probably
isn’t, so correct me if I’m wrong here) Alice was about 8 or 9 when she first
got dumped into Wonderland and it wasn’t until she was in her 30’s that she
finally gave into the torments of Wonderland and tried to stop all the voices
and visions permanently.  That’s about
over 25 years she had to deal with these constantly taunting her, day and
night.  For someone to be able to
maintain some sense of normalcy amongst all of that incessant terror that goes
on in her head, she’s gotta be resilient as heck, to a point that is.  Seeing her trying to keep it together and
resisting the temptation of suicide until she couldn’t take it anymore, shows
just how human she really is and it’s these types of characters that are a nice
break from the fantastical heroes and villains of the everyday comic series.
With a story written by both Raven and Pat, how could I not
like it?  Both of these guys just have
this fantastic sense of character development that just blows me away.  I’m pretty sure I’ve touched upon this in
past reviews of their respective books. 
The artwork helped boost the story along and complimented the style of
the Wonderland books that I’ve come to enjoy. 
So no problems at all, unless you hate good writing, then this probably
isn’t for you.

And so we begin our journey, delving into the psyche of
Alice, up until her inevitable passing. 
It may become a bit sad and sometimes even downright depressing, but the
horrors of Wonderland are sure to make things interesting along the way.  So, go out and pick up this issue and help
Alice along through her myriad of nightmares down the rabbit hole.  She can surely use all of the help she can
get.  For more info on where to find this
issue, visit the Zenescope website, or the Zenescope
Facebook
page.
Geek-o-Rama received a copy of this book for the purpose of this review. All thoughts, comments and opinions are those of the individual reviewer.

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>