Action Lab tagged posts

THIS LOVE SO BRIEF

Written and Illustrated by FRED CHAO

SYNOPSIS: Comics creator Fred Chao put together a small collection of humorous short stories from his love life. Starting off as comical reflections of elementary school crushes, house party hook-ups, and first relationships, these stories delve into themes of the responsibilities that come with age, inevitable life changes, nostalgia, and home. – COMIXOLOGY

This book is a collection of 5 short stories dealing with the authors various bloopers and blunders in his love life. There are a plethora of emotions weaving in and out of these stories, from humor to cringe-worthy awkwardness to deep sadness. I personally relate to some of these stories quite a bit.

The artwork leaves a bit to be desired. It’s not my favorite art...

Read More

Powers in Action #1-2

Created by Art Baltazar
Written by Art Baltazar
Art by Art Baltazar
Letters by Art Baltazar
Cover by Art Baltazar

As shocking as it may be after reading the above credits, Powers in Action is the brainchild of multi-award winning cartoonist and writer, Art Baltazar. An easy way to describe his work for readers without young children would be to compare his style to Genndy Tartakovsky’s work on Power Puff Girls and Dexter’s Laboratory.

The backgrounds are equal parts dynamic and simplistic, but always very colorful. Similarly, both the heroes and villains are slightly goofy in that way only something aimed at kids can be.

The plot in issue #1 is even less relevant than the first issue of most teamup books, but we are introduced to The Hero Squadron and it’s members...

Read More

ZOMBIE TRAMP VOLUME 15: Come pay your respects to “The Death of Zombie Tramp”!

ZOMBIE TRAMP VOLUME 15: THE DEATH OF ZOMBIE TRAMP
Writer(s): Dan Mendoza

Artist Name(s): Celor, Marco Maccagni
Cover Artist(s): Celor
128 pgs./ M / FC
$14.99
ZOMBIE TRAMP VOLUME 15 collects the epic “Death of Zombie Tramp” event. Janey Belle, the eponymous Zombie Tramp and literal voodoo queen, has lost control of her inner monster. Now, her friends and allies must come together to defeat her! Will they be able to save her soul, or has Janey already been lost to her inner demons? This four year anniversary storyline will leave longtime fans surprised and newcomers intrigued!

The story of ZOMBIE TRAMP is not for the feint of heart as it includes grindhouse horror with heart (and skin)...

Read More

Toyetica Volume 2

Big mysteries unraveling at Dollington Academy!
 
Writer(s): Marty LeGrow
Artist Name(s): Marty LeGrow
Cover Artist(s): Marty LeGrow
128 pgs./ E / FC
14.99

Kid’s toys continue to compete for action figure fame at Dollington Academy in the second volume of TOYETICA…but in a school full of hidden secrets, will their homework take a backseat to mystery-hunting? Writer/artist Marty LeGrow comments, “There’s something more to this story than you’ve seen in volume one. Things around Dollington Academy are becoming suspicious. If you think you know what TOYETICA is all about, you haven’t seen anything yet.”

With powerful themes of adventure, mystery and personal identity, The series is perfect for fans of My Little Pony, Gravity Falls and Steven Universe. Co...

Read More

JACK HAMMER: PAPER HERO ONE-SHOT

JACK HAMMER: PAPER HERO ONE-SHOT 
Jack McGriskin, cranky, super-strong private eye,
is back in an all-new one-shot! 


Writer(s): Brandon Barrows
Artist Name(s): Bill Blankenship (Pencils), Bill Blankenship (Colors)
Cover Artist(s): Bill Blankenship
32 pgs./ T / FC
$3.99

In an all-new one-shot, JACK HAMMER is back, balancing super-powered action with private-eye sensibilities to give readers the kind of high octane, street-level gut-punch fans of series likeDaredevil and Kill or Be Killed crave!

With nothing left to lose, Monkey Business, one of Jack McGriskin’s oldest super-powered enemies, cuts loose and rampages through the streets of Boston!

   
Series writer Brandon Barrows (Mythos: Lovecrafts Worlds) comments, “Jack McGriskin has been a part of me for more t...

Read More