AEONIAN #1

WRITTEN: STEFANI MANARD

ART: STAN YAK

COLORS: ROBERT NUGENT

LETTERS: ROB JONES

SYNOPSIS: This book follows a family who has had a taste of living an extended life, but is looking to solidify their grasp on living forever. Issue one follows the family as they struggle with outside sources, and each other, to reach their goal. Who is their “guest”, and what secrets does he hold?

Blending mythology, horror, and sci-fi, this arc will leave you asking yourself, how far would you go to obtain eternal life?

STORY: This book is about a rich family and there quest for immortality and the ramifications that come with that on some of the family members. The writing is good and builds up the world nicely I am curious to see where the story goes to...

Read More

Venus Rises Series 2 #1

Conceived and Written by J.G. Birdsall
Illustrated by Thomas Garbarini

As I write this I’m in the middle of nowhere with no cell service or wifi. Normally when I review a comic book as clearly marked “Series 2” as this I would try to find out what “Series 1” was all about. That’s not an option, which gives me the opportunity to take this on its own without checking its history, or even the Kickstarter campaign that funded it.

The only history I did get was a “history so far” blurb and a two-page timeline of major historical events. With those included, I was able to at least epic together a bit of what I was walking into. Short version: government and corporations clash, corporations take control of the government...

Read More

Kickstarter/Indiegogo Spotlight: Dulce #2

Every conspiracy ever is real. These guys don’t want you to know that.

Marcus has been working at the secret underground base under Dulce, New Mexico for a short time now.  When he and investigative reporter Maria Garza are pulled into a whole new realm of existence within the base, it’s up to the two of them to figure out an escape.  The latest story blows the base wide open for the reader to explore, with an expanded cast, and a brand new menace!

If that doesn’t sound absolutely like something you need to read, I just don’t know what to say…No, wait. I do. Go check out the 6 page preview on the Kickstarter page and let it change your mind. This is one project that you really need to get your fingers and eyes on. Didn’t get issue #1? So? Get it now alongside issue #2!

Read More

Kickstarter/Indigogo of the Week: Realmz Comic Series

It’s always fun to come across a crowdfunding campaign for something that looks so great you immediately want to see more, that was the case when Realmz crossed my path. Limitless Comics has previously put out issue #1-3 of Realmz, and are now going back eight years before the events of that storyline, to where it all really starts.

Most comic readers are familiar with the concept of issue #0. The specific format may be different, but generally it’s a prequel that leads into Issue #1. With this campaign, Limitless Comics is taking that concept a step further with Issue #01 and my understanding is there is at least a #02 and 03 planned in the near future.

The Indiegogo campaign is a bit lacking in background and information, but after some hunting around I found most of my answers, then a ...

Read More

Newburry & Hobbes: The Undying #4

Newbury and Hobbes 4 cover

A Victorian duo takes to the streets of a Holmesian London to conform fantastic steampunk/diesel-punk mysteries—This is the world of the Newbury & Hobbes novels. Can George Mann write a comic in the tradition of Jago & Litefoot and pass muster? With the element of the science-fantastic added to the age, yes.

Read More