Monthly Archives February 2019

Newburry & Hobbes: The Undying #4

Newbury and Hobbes 4 cover

A Victorian duo takes to the streets of a Holmesian London to conform fantastic steampunk/diesel-punk mysteries—This is the world of the Newbury & Hobbes novels. Can George Mann write a comic in the tradition of Jago & Litefoot and pass muster? With the element of the science-fantastic added to the age, yes.

Read More

NERD NATION PRESENTS #3

This book is an Anthology with 6 different stories in one. I will rate each story just in simple terms for brevity sake.

Many Deaths of Jack Graziano

Written by: Gene Hoyle & Curtis Suthard

Artist: Lonnie Webb

Letterer and Editor: Mike Waggoner

This story is a superhero team story. There are some funny moments like someone being stabbed with a word balloon. But other than that I’m not positive what’s happening in the plot. The artwork is cartoony and fun overall this story was fine with me just didn’t do much for me as far as character development and I realize that this is the 3rd book and I did not read the first two which I’m sure is where all that information is contained.

2 out of 5 stars

Legion

Written by: Sam Fonner

Illustrator: David Johnson Jr

This is a prose story that is...

Read More

Zodiac #1

Zodiac Issue 1 Cover

Zodiac is Shadowhawk. Which is a Batman who kills. And I guess Merlin is a magic-oriented Alfred. Just forget the Zodiac name and the Merlin connection. I don’t get it. I expected more exposition. I didn’t get it, you didn’t get it. We aren’t loved.

Read More

Wonder Twins #1

Writer: Mark Russel
Art: Stephen Byrne
Letters: Dave Sharpe

WONDER TWIN POWERS… ACTIVATE!

Despite being moderately obscure, intentionally underpowered, sidekicks, that were created to appease the growing “all cartoons need an educational/moral message” crowd that would ultimately be the death of the Saturday morning cartoon. The Wonder Twins somehow have managed to nostalgically stay along the peripheral of pop culture for over 40 years now.

Well, they are back in an all new series. I’m not entirely sure what continuity this book takes place in, and I’m not entirely sure I care. Mark Russel’s story and dialogue both have a distinctly Superfriends feel to it, with the more established heroes taking on a more lighthearted tone than currently normal...

Read More

Kickstarter/Indiegogo Spotlight: Foxy and Wolfy Vol. 1

Foxy and Wolfy is a magical mix of Mahou shoujo, good PG-13 yuri fun, and hell-raising chaos.  I don’t even know what all of that means, but I know that I adore the art on this book and that the creator is a total gem! Those two things alone have me keeping an eye on this Kickstarter. If you love manga, supporting special creators, and just awesome, please head on over and check out this Kickstarter project!

Read More